The Global Energy Prize

December 1, 2017

February 19, 2018

+7 (495) 739-54-35

Awards Description

The Global Energy Prize is presented each year in St. Petersburg by the President of the Russian Federation where winners receive a prize of RUB 39 million.

Since the first awards ceremony in 2003, the prize has been presented to 35 laureates from 11 countries. Winners have included prominent scientists such as Arthur Rosenfeld from the US (for his pioneering work in energy-efficient buildings), Akira Yoshino from Japan (for the invention of lithium ion batteries), and Thorsteinn Ingi Sigfusson from Iceland (for developing hydrogen into a viable alternative power source in Iceland).

The awards process is overseen by an international committee that consists of 20 scientists from 13 countries, chaired by British scientist and Nobel Peace Prize winner Professor Rodney Allam. World leaders who have supported the Prize include former US President George W. Bush, former British Prime Ministers Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, former French President Jacques Chirac, current Canadian Prime Minister Steven Harper and current Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

The competition is managed by the Moscow-based The Global Energy Association, with the support of three leading Russian energy companies: GazpromSurgutneftegas and Federal Grid Company of Unified Energy System.

The key drivers determining the award include:

  • Discovery, inventions and fundamental research into new opportunities for energy industry development.
  • Development programmes, engineering improvements and application-oriented innovations that create ways of using energy more efficiently.
  • Research, development and innovation programmes that open up new energy sources as well as opportunities for using them.
  • Contributions to breakthrough approaches that address energy transmission and energy saving challenges.
  • Discoveries, inventions and research that materially contribute to environmental protection and development problems, as well as opening up innovative methods of energy conversion.


Each of the Laureates awarded the Global Energy Prize is given a commemorative medal, a diploma, an honorary lapel badge of gold and a monetary prize. The monetary prize`s amount is defined each year by the Members of the Association.

The nomination process begins on the 1 of December and ends on the 19 of February. Candidates for the Prize can by nominated by:

  • Nobel Prize laureates for physics or chemistry;
  • Winners of the Kyoto, Max Planck, Wolf, Balzan, and Zayed Prizes, Energy Globe, Goldman Environment, UNEP Sasakawa Prize;
  • Members of the Russian Department for Earth Sciences, the Department for Physical Sciences, the Department for Chemistry and Material Sciences, the Department of Energy, Machinery, and Mechanics, as well as foreign members of the aforementioned departments;
  • Laureates of the Global Energy International Prize;
  • Scientists specially invited for this purpose by Global Energy.

Nominators suggest candidates for the Prize by submitting pre-defined nomination forms. Once the nomination process is closed on 1 March, the Experts Pool provides a preliminary expert assessment of the nominees and their scientific achievements. The Experts Pool consists of independent international experts from international energy organisations, scientific bodies and energy industry. The Experts Pool’s recommendations are forwarded to the International Award Committee, which make the final selection of the winners in April.

The prize is presented to the laureates by the President of the Russian Federation during an official ceremony, which takes place at the St Petersburg International Economic Forum. Laureates receive a commemorative medal and a Prize of RUB 39 million.

Contact Information

Visited 101 times, 1 Visit today

Add a Review

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Related Events

December 1, 2017 To March 1, 2018

SPE awards recognize members for their technical contributions, professional excellence, career achievement, service to colleagues, industry leadership, and public service. International Awards International awards recognize individuals and companies who make significant technical and professional contributions to the petroleum engineering profession and to the worldwide oil and gas industry. Read more…

OTC and its regional events recognize major technological, humanitarian, environmental, and leadership contributions to the industry. Read more…

November 16, 2017 To March 30, 2018

Each year, the coveted Global Water Awards are presented at the Global Water Summit, the major business conference for the water industry worldwide. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To June 20, 2018

The 6th Annual Rocky Mountain Oil & Gas Awards provides a platform for the oil and gas industry to showcase their successes in the only Oil & Gas Awards program. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To June 30, 2018

The International Mining Technology Hall of Fame is now well established, recognising the technical innovators of our industry – past and present – here in this virtual hall of fame and at an annual gala dinner. This initiative has been acknowledged and accepted with great enthusiasm around the world. Read more…

November 1, 2017 To January 31, 2018

Now in its 48th year, the Special Meritorious Awards for Engineering Innovation (MEA) is the industry’s most established and widely respected engineering awards program.  Each year, the world’s best new tools and techniques for finding, developing and producing hydrocarbons are recognized. Read more…