2018 Search Engine Land Awards open now

January 1, 2018

April 13, 2018


Awards Description

Exciting news! The 4th annual awards ceremony & celebration will be held in Seattle, WA during SMX Advanced — the entire industry is invited to participate.

We are thrilled to announce that the search industry’s most prestigious awards competition is now open for submissions. Exciting changes are in store for the 4th annual awards program with several new categories added for 2018, including:

  • Best Search & Social Media Marketing Initiative
  • Best Research Initiative by an Agency or Individual
  • Best Research Initiative by a Software Tool or Platform
  • Boutique Agency of the Year – SEO
  • Boutique Agency of the Year – SEM
  • Large Agency of the Year – SEO
  • Large Agency of the Year – SEM

This year’s competition features over 25 categories across the various disciplines of search marketing, setting the gold standard for rewarding innovation and those search marketers delivering exceptional results.

As part of our ongoing commitment to the highest editorial standards, our awards program proudly upholds the strictest submission criteria in the industry and the unbiased judging process affirms our commitment to editorial integrity.

Only the Search Engine Land editorial staff (and independent contractors of our parent company) are responsible for the primary task of reviewing and scoring all of the campaign focused categories, in conjunction with representatives from Google and Bing.

That means agency employees and individual consultants do not review or judge other agency work. Ever. Similarly, sponsorship of the awards program does not influence the outcomes.

For 2018, we again worked with our trusted partner Clutch.co to further build out the entry criteria for the agency competition. Clutch will oversee the independent review, client verification and judging of the Agency of the Year categories, following our scoring protocol. However, the editorial team is not involved in selecting the finalists or winners of these categories.

Learn more about the judging process here.

The biggest search event of the year

Most exciting of all, this year we have decided to move the Search Engine Land Awards ceremony and celebration to Seattle, Washington — in conjunction with our annual SMX Advanced conference, bringing together the best minds and brightest voices in search marketing for the biggest night in search.

This year’s awards celebration will be held on June 12, 2018 at Seattle’s Museum of Pop Cultureand will include not just the awards finalists, but will be open to all SMX Advanced All-Access attendees and EXPO+ Pass holders for one epic evening celebrating search marketing with over 600 of your peers and colleagues in the SEO and SEM community.

In addition to honoring all of the achievements by the awards finalists and winners, there will be fabulous food and drinks, entertainment and surprises you won’t want to miss.

How to enter the awards

First, review all categories and entry criteria here.

Next, create an account and begin the application process. It is recommended to login and review how the application process is structured for the category (or categories) you plan to enter before preparing submission materials. You may also complete the entry process in phases until the deadline.

Fees & Deadlines: 

  • $295 USD per entry submitted before March 31, 2018 at 11:59PM PST.
  • $395 USD per entry submitted between April 1 – April 13, 2018.
  • Entries close April 13, 2018 at 11:59PM PST.

Read the FAQ and Rules & Regulations for additional information.

Contact Information


Visited 98 times, 1 Visit today

Add a Review

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Related Events

February 27, 2018 To May 14, 2018

The following are the terms and conditions of entry to the 2018 IPRA GWA. By submitting entries to the competition you assent that you have read and agree to abide by these terms and conditions. A. Timing and deadlines Entries open Tuesday 27 February 2018. Entries closeMonday 14 May 2018. Read more…

January 23, 2018 To March 30, 2018

As a marketing professional, you are all too familiar with the process that it takes to see a project through from its conception to completion.  Initially, you are overwhelmed with the pressure of meetings, strategies, worries, changes and countless creatives and proofs.  Not all is lost.  Soon comes the excitement… Read more…

November 1, 2017 To February 28, 2018

WHY ENTER? Creating amazing work may be its own reward. Having your work seen and recognized by the global creative community is inspiring, encouraging and energizing. Nice fuel for your next project. Read more…

November 1, 2017 To February 14, 2018

Everything You Need to Know This handy guide is your one-stop-shop for everything you need to know about entering D&AD Awards 2018, including what’s new for this year, categories, pricing, eligibility and entry criteria, formats, deadlines and frequently asked questions. You’ll need to be registered to download the guide. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To February 23, 2018

Entries are now open! Celebrated as the Oscars of the communications industry, the Silver Anvil Awards have been annually presented to organizations’ best strategic and influential public relations campaigns for the past 73 years. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To March 23, 2018

For more than 45 years, the Bronze Anvil Awards have recognized the best of the best in public relations tactics — the use of social media, video, blogs, podcasts, annual reports, digital newsletters, websites – that contribute to the success of overall programs or campaigns. Read more…

January 1, 2018 To March 23, 2018

Running since 2011, the CEB Internal Communications Awards is the premium event for recognizing internal communicators from around the globe during a black-tie evening of celebration. Our aim is to support and showcase the great work of communicators who have achieved real, measurable business outcomes in their respective organizations. Read more…

January 1, 2018 To March 19, 2018

The International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) 2018 is open for entries with an expanded jury, a new look and some new categories. Read more…

October 2, 2017 To January 26, 2018

The Public Relations and Marketing Excellence Awards were launched in 2014 to reward public relations agencies, departments and people whose work delivered exceptional performance and innovative approaches. In recent years, we extended this program to marketing agencies and departments. Read more…

April 2, 2018 To July 31, 2018

LIA now honors 22 unique media types: Ambient, Billboard, Branded Entertainment, Design, Digital, Health & Wellness, Health & Wellness – Craft, Integration, Medical, Medical – Craft, Music & Sound, Music Video, Non-Traditional, Package Design, Poster, Print, Production & Post-Production, Radio & Audio, Social Influencers, The NEW, TV/Cinema/Online Film and Verbal… Read more…

November 1, 2017 To February 1, 2018


December 31, 2017 To August 15, 2018

Why should you enter? There are numerous benefits to entering, aside from that warm glow of satisfaction when you find out you’ve won!   Winning an award can: Provide excellent PR and marketing opportunities Help you break in to new markets and countries Enhance the credibility of your services Attract… Read more…