The Pearson Teaching Awards

December 1, 2017

March 23, 2018

07399 497 609

Awards Description

The Teaching Awards Trust was established in 1998 by David, Lord Puttnam CBE, as a means of recognising and celebrating excellence in education.  The Awards honour outstanding teachers and teaching and highlight just how vital success in education is to the health and wealth of the UK.

The charity’s mission is to celebrate excellence in education, through the annual Pearson Teaching Awards and the Thank a Teacher Campaign.

Every day at the Pearson Teaching Awards Trust, we hear of exceptional teachers, lecturers, headteachers and teaching assistants who help students aim high and achieve their potential, often meeting and overcoming considerable challenges along the way.

The Teaching Awards offers everyone the opportunity to say “thank you”, to the teacher who has helped them most.  Anyone can take part, children, students, parents, grandparents and colleagues can all go online and say thank you.  In return, we will send a thank you card to each and every person or team of people who is thanked. Every “thank you”, then becomes a nomination for a Teaching Award.

How to Enter

Entries can be submitted by schools or colleges. Members of the public can nominate a teacher for an award through our ‘Thank You’ scheme. Click here for more details.

If you are a member of the senior management team of a school or college team, or a stakeholder working closely with educational establishments and feel you can confidently complete an entry form against the set criteria, you may submit an entry as detailed below.

If you want to endorse a thank you that one of your staff has received, you don’t need to wait for us to write to you – you can start the process today by downloading the relevant entry form for the category in which you wish to endorse and thereby enter your staff member for an Award.

Please note the Pearson Teaching Awards operates the following policies:

  • A person may only be entered into one category in any given awards year
  • Previous Teaching Award winners cannot be entered for further Pearson Teaching Awards
  • If the nominee will be retiring before April 2018 then sadly they are not eligible to be entered for a Teaching Award.

Select a Teaching Awards category from the list below in the format you prefer to download an Entry Form. Once you have decided the category in which to submit the entry for your nominee(s), download and save the relevant Entry Form.

Complete the Entry Form in Microsoft Word or in Google Docs, and email to We will email to confirm receipt and if you haven’t received this within 5 days please do get in touch.

Please ensure you read through the eligibility, criteria and questions on the entry form carefully before submitting your entry.

You may enter as many colleagues or teams as you wish.

Every nominee will also receive a thank you card and be given access to the opening statement of your entry. All other information provided will be treated in the strictest confidence.

Entries must be received by Friday 23rd March 2018 at 5pm.

Many thanks for taking part.

Click here to download the entry forms.


Contact Information

Visited 167 times, 1 Visit today

Add a Review

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Related Events

December 1, 2017 To February 28, 2018

The Awards night In April 2017, Whatuni held its annual Student Choice Awards in London based on reviews by over 26,000 students. The awards were presented by comedian David Mitchell and saw UK universities gain recognition across 12 categories. Read more…

October 2, 2017 To January 12, 2018

Important guidance and information for nominators and nominees Following feedback from previous years’ nominators, we have launched a new, simpler, online nomination process for 2018. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To February 23, 2018

The BTEC Awards is our annual opportunity to recognise and reward the students, teachers, schools and colleges for their exceptional achievements in vocational learning. The BTEC Awards is an annual event which allows you to reward and celebrate the achievements of exceptional students and colleagues on the national stage. Read more…

Categories & criteria Unless otherwise stated in the specific subject criteria, the judges will be looking for outstanding examples of best practice during the 2016-17 academic year. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To March 31, 2018

The NDNA Nursery Awards, now in their 15th year, are the only early years awards voted for by parents as well as judged on excellence! A rigorous shortlisting process by our early years experts takes place followed by submission to our judging panel. Read more…

December 1, 2017 To May 8, 2018

In the last twelve years of the Better Energy School Awards (previously known as the Total Green School Awards), we have seen amazing environmental projects submitted by over 250,000 young people, guided by their inspirational teachers.The Better Energy School Awards aim to assist and encourage environmental education for young people aged 5-11. Read more…